Final Musical-Related Post.

I know I’ve been posting a lot of musical posts in the past week, but this will be the last one so I won’t tire some people. As my alibi, I’ve recently been invigorated by my love of musicals.  I find myself looking up old clips of musicals from Summer Stock, Funny Face, and West Side Story. The essential musical list and the Gene Kelly tribute were fun to write. And so, this image is ingrained in my brain as the energetic Anne Miller dances with Frank Sinatra and Gene Kelly from On the Town. What’s most appealing about this number is that the energy is all over the place. It’s like a cartoon come to life. A librarian, three sailors, and a taxi driver capture the 1940s zaniness in a New York Museum singing about the prehistoric age. Fun and exuberant, “Modern Man” is my favorite song from “On the Town.”

Leave a Reply

