Twilight at Midnight.

I recently watched a midnight showing of Twilight at Tanforan Theaters. Unlike all the other adoring female fans of the novel series, I have never read the books. I was a newcomer expecting nothing more or less from the movie. I wanted to experience what the hype was all about and hopefully like the movie based on its own merit. Someone wrote in a review (I can’t remember) that Twilight will please its devoted fans, but do little for the uninitiated after having lost much of its bite transitioning to the big screen.” Bingo! So what happened?

Before the movie began, all the girls in the theater screamed as if someone had a heart attack. I was already overwhelmed by the large female fan base. And after the movie ended, a female fan said “I loved every second of Twilight!” Really?

The plot of the movie was in predictable territory, but I felt the plot was dry and mediocre . Two people are attracted to each other. One happens to be a vampire; A vampire that only feeds off animal blood. The girl meets the rest of his vampire family and later leads to a big epic fight between an opposing vampire that wants to feed on the girl.” Pretty much a definite “it’s okay.”

The movie mainly focuses on the leads, Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattinson. Kristen Stewart played Bella, the shy teenager who moves away to live with her father in the somewhere in the Midwest. She was mostly bland showcasing an amateur performance as she couldn’t stop fidgeting. Unlike Ms. Stewart, Robert Pattinson stole the movie as he played the statuesque, otherworldly vampire everyone adores. Even I will admit that the movie rides on his performance as he embodies the modern Adonis with his pale skin and piercing somber eyes. He reminded of James Dean as the outsider with his rebellious attire, untamed hair, and reclusive mannerisms. The rest of the cast went unnoticed as they were pushed to the background. I hope the sequels will flesh out these underused characters as they have potential, especially Pattinson’s rival, Jacob Black.

Twilight is tailored for its fans to see their literary idols on the big screen. They will love it, but the rest of us will not feel the hype. I intended to read the books after watching Twilight, but alas, I will not.

5/10

One Response to Twilight at Midnight.

  1. […] Twilight at Midnight. I recently watched a midnight showing of Twilight at Tanforan Theaters. Unlike all the other adoring female fans of the novel series, I have never read the books. I was a newcomer expecting nothing more or less from the movie. I wanted to experience what the hype was all about and hopefully like … […]

Leave a Reply

