Movies Shine At The 2009 Academy Awards!

The 2009 Academy Awards was yesterday night, and I’m saddened that I missed Hollywood’s biggest night because of work. But I’m happy nonetheless since many of my picks were showered with praises.  And I had the chance to witness the Best Picture showcase during my break.  Now, for the magazine I would have enjoyed reviewing the best picture nomination movies, but due to schedule time, it’s impossible.Director Danny Boyle’s Slumdog Millionaire won 8 awards, including Best Picture and Best Director. It deserves it’s accolades. I am happy that Milk received its praise with Sean Penn’s Best Actor win and the Best Screenplay because it truly is a great American film in light of the battle against marriage equality. And The Curious Case of Benjamin Button may not have won any awards for its actors, but received wins for it’s Art Direction, Makeup, and Visual Effects. The movie has an undeniable charm that is highlighted through the whimsical surroundings.Heath Ledger won an award posthumously for the Dark Knight and now I am curious about Kate Winslet in The Reader and Penelope Cruz in Vicky Christina Barcelona after their female award wins, respectively. The Academy Awards may have ended, but I am happy that many of the great movies were noticed. Milk and Slumdog Millionaire and the others may now bow off gracefully.

One Response to Movies Shine At The 2009 Academy Awards!

  1. Elizabeth says:

    “Shone,” Mr. Copy Editor, not “shined” 😉 But yeah, I pretty much shit myself when Penn won for Milk.

    I’m leaving you this comment in class… heh.

Leave a Reply

