My Winter Reading List.

For every trip I go on, I like to gather reading materials to keep myself busy and hopefully keep my literacy going. Here’ s my list for my Christmas trip:

  • Gossip Girl: I usually read something “girly” and “trashy.” The past couple of years have been with Truman Capote’s Breakfast at Tiffany’s and Lauren Weisberger’s The Devil Wears Prada. Since my favorite television show is on a 3-month hiatus, I still need to get my “GG fix.” The first book inspired the first episode and I’m excited to reacquaint myself with the characters, as the plotlines are juicy, shocking, and fun. It will be a short read, and might get me to read the rest of the books.
  • Nordstrom’s Men’s Style Handbook: One of my favorite coffee table books is Detail Magazine’s Men’s Style Manual. I’ve been pursuing a similar book with the same topic, and I’ve finally found the answer. My friend surprised me with Nordstrom’s version and I was delighted to hear that I’ll be able to be a satorialist once again with nifty style tips.
  • Avengers: Knights of Wundagore/ Kree-Skrull War: I wanted to read a few good graphic novels and a chance to revisit good old Avengers stories, so these stories definitely popped to mind. Brian Michael Bendis has radically changed the Avengers landscape (better and worse), so to read what the champions were like before him in their mighty greatness was a treat. Not only are these graphic novels drawn by John Byrne, Neal Adams, and the Buschema brothers, the stories are epic and grand. From a membership minority quota to the origins of the Scarlet Witch and Quicksilver to the cosmic wars between two alien races, the Avengers title was booming ripe with originality. Plus, it’s good to see the Marvel style circa swingin’ 70s.

When I come back for 2010:

  • The Ethical Slut: My friend advised me to read this book, as it’s very modern. I wanted to read this for my trip, but I wouldn’t receive it until after. Well, good to start the New Year by learning the rules while still being promiscuous, I guess.
  • Daredevil: The Definitive Frank Miller collection, Vol. 1: I was going to buy this book and fall in love with Frank Miller’s Daredevil, but I figured I had enough retro Marvel comics for my trip. But it’s next on my graphic novel read list.
  • X-Men: The Rise and Fall of the Shi’ar Empire: an important epic in the X-Men mythos that explains the third Summers brothers connection, Xavier’s re-emerged powers, the current state of the alien empire, and why there are three lost X-Men in space. Plus, it will complete my X-Men collection.
  • The Gossip Girl Series: Continue with the scandals? We’ll see. If I do, I’ll pay close attention to the sequel “You Know You Love Me” and the series prequel “I Will Always Love You.” There will be a greater emphasis on the finale “It Had To Be You.”
  • Siege: I’ve read the majority of issues in Road to Siege and the final Ultimate Spiderman collections, but I’ll buy them to fully understand the story. Especially with Siege as the next big event that ties everything originating from 2004’s Avengers Disassembled. I will definitely be on board.
Leave a Reply

