Streamlining My “Graphic Novel” Collection.

For the Summer, I decided to clean out unwanted graphic novels. I’ve had a lot to read and there are some I know I won’t be reading again in the future as I’m strictly a reader-friendly “Marvelite,” particularly the Avengers and the X-Men. So instead of selling for money, I decided to donate them for a good cause to a few friends. Many of these donations were good to read once, not reader-friendly, or just “no thank you.”

  1. Casanova: I like Matt Fraction. He’s definitely one of the best writers out there. And while Casanova has everything I want with espionage, alternate realities, mind-blowing violence, and sex, I couldn’t get myself into it.
  2. Maus: Everyone has spoken great accolades for this collection. It’s the story of the Holocaust through the eyes of a survivor and his son. The only exception is that the Jewish characters are portrayed as mice and Nazi as cats. While the subject matter is brilliant and their journey tragic, these metaphors left me apathetic to their plight. I wouldn’t be reading it a second time.
  3. DC- The New Frontier: I measure everything to Marvels. DC: The New Frontier looked like the equivalent for the DC Universe as it’s a reinterpretation of the birth of the superhero genre during the 1960s. While entertaining, it seems like this book was tailored for people who had a good knowledge of the DC Universe: the hardcore fans. I was confused on characters so I passed on ever reading this again.
  4. The Amazing Spiderman, Vol. 1: Spiderman is an iconic character and his plight is revolutionary as it focused on an ordinary teenager dealing with life and fighting crime. But in modern times, it’s incredibly corny. My favorite issue was the origin issue, which I already had in a reprint so I didn’t need this collection.
  5. The Filth: This book is great as Grant Morrison explores a man’s abduction into a shadowy organization that fights off the dregs of society. It’s the author’s favorite but I find myself only reading it once. It’s still mind-blowing, nonetheless.
  6. Superman, Vol. 1: I wanted to read the first issue as it’s a classic that started the superhero genre. It’s a great issue but the next nine issues weren’t as memorable as he only fits two-bit thugs. I had a customer give me a trade paperback called Greatest Superman Stories Ever Told which had that issue and other greats throughout the decades.
  7. Air: I didn’t get it. A flight attendant is periodically whisked away into another world with terrorist organizations? The first six issues were underwhelming and hard to immerse myself with the world. I gave up when the last issue introduced Amelia Earhart as a supposed shocker. Huh?
  8. Sky Doll: This novel really lost me as it focuses on a life-like android with no rights who exists to serve the state’s desires. It’s about her escape and the possibility that she is a messianic figure. And the novel focuses on adult content so it’s a bit sexual. While the religious allegories were deeply profound metaphors, but I thought the novel wasn’t as great. There are sequels, but I couldn’t enjoy the first.
  9. Daredevil- Born Again: While a good story by Frank Miller, I expected true greatness. The Kingpin tears Matt Murdock’s life apart as his junkie girlfriend sells his identity for a hit. Still, an entertaining story that I wouldn’t reread again. It didn’t measure up to my own love for Alex Ross’ Marvels or Chris Claremont’s The Dark Phoenix Saga.
  10. Rawhide Kid: God, this was a mess. Take an iconic comic Western character and change his orientation just for shock value and ram his dialogue with “unfunny” stereotypical jokes on the gay community. This was a pain to read, and it didn’t help that he was a “ginger priss.”
Leave a Reply

